Iyengar Yoga Teachers

The Iyengar Teacher certification process is consistent worldwide training program.  Certified Iyengar Teacher around the world, have followed the same process regardless of the country they trained in or were assessed in.

To be certified as an Iyengar yoga teacher, a teacher needs to have studied for a minimum of two years under a Senior Iyengar Certified Teacher.

In addition to this a aspirant will have passed an assessment before other Senior Iyengar Teachers and shown a high level of understanding of the Iyengar method as demonstrated in both their personal practice and their teaching.

The minimum training required of a teacher in the Iyengar method is two years.  However, it usually takes at least 3 years to achieve the level of competence expected.  The process of training and assessment is quite gruelling.

Before commencing Iyengar teacher training the aspirant requires:

  • To have been a student of Iyengar yoga (under a certified teacher) for a minimum of 3 years.
  • To have attended at least 3 classes a week and have a daily practice of their own.  The teachers will judge the aspirant’s practice further to start teacher training.

The Iyengar Teacher training process is in itself quite demanding.  The aspirant is required to receive teacher training from a senior teacher is for a minimum of 2 years.

The training program focuses primarily on:

  • The personal practice of the aspirant.
  • Developing clarity in delivery of instructions to students.
  • Learning to make subtle adjustments with the use of props.
  • Identifying and understanding problems faced by specific individuals.

After 1 year of training, the aspirant can appear for the Introductory Level I assessment.

Following a minimum of a further 1 year after successfully passing the Introductory Level I assessment, the aspirant can appear for the Introductory Level II assessment.

Once a teacher has attained their Introductory Level II certification then appear for the higher levels (Junior Intermediate, Senior Intermediate, Junior and Senior Advanced) after a minimum gap of one and a half year each between each level.

There are Iyengar teacher certification levels:

  • Introductory I and II
  • Junior Intermediate I, II and III
  • Senior Intermediate I, II and III
  • Junior Advanced I, II and III
  • Senior Advanced I and II

Each of these levels has its own syllabus and assessment for practice and teaching.  With each assessment consists of three components:

  • A theory paper: about asanas, pranayama, anatomy, physiology and yoga.
  • A practice session of asanas and pranayama.
  • A demonstration of the aspirants teaching ability.

Whilst teaching ability and personal practice cannot be gained without the input of time, time is not the sole measure that makes the aspirant eligible for a particular level of certification.  It rather the quality of practice of their and the quality of their teaching that will make the aspirant suitable for accreditation to the next teach level.

Iyengar Certified Teachers all over the world follow the same process no matter what country in the world they were certified in.

The  Iyengar Certification Mark

Once certified as an Iyengar Yoga Teacher the teacher is authorized to use the Certification Mark. When you see the Certification Mark you can be sure of the teacher's authenticity and commitment to the Iyengar method of yoga.  You can find out more about the Certification Mark here.

All of the teachers at the Just Yoga Studio are Iyengar trained are certified Iyengar teachers or are working towards certification.  Each teacher has a strong and regular personal practice, and is committed to the promotion and development of the Iyengar yoga method.

Find out more about the Just Yoga teachers here.

Last Updated on Tuesday, 12 November 2013 12:48